Bobby Hutcherson has revealed details of his upcoming album.

Titled ‘Somewhere In The Night’ the album, which is due for release September 25, marks Hutcherson’s first release in almost three years.

The album was recorded live in the Dizzy’s Club Coca-Cola venue at New York’s Jazz at Lincoln Center in 2009 over the course of two sold out sets. Hutcherson is joined on the record by long-time friend, B-3 wizard Joey DeFrancesco and the rest of his trio, which consists of Byron Landham (Drums) and Peter Bernstein (Guitar).

‘Somewhere In The Night’ features two original compositions by Hutcherson himself, alongside tributes to many of his influences, including his late mentor Milt Jackson.

Hutcherson says of the title track of the album, “every time I play with Joey, we play that. I always love to hear Joey and listen to his bass line. Yeah, and that tempo, there’s a longing feeling in it.” The title track was originally composed by the late trumpeter Billy May.

Speaking about DeFrancesco, Hutcherson said: “One thing about Joey – Although he’s full of ideas, he never gets in the way because he sure is very good at tempo. I don’t mean tempo as speed, I mean tempo as being able to understand what he’s playing at any speed, you know, the tempo of life. He paces his notes, so they don’t come out cluttered. He understands how to deliver, and that’s an important thing to do.”

Hutcherson, 71, got his start in Jazz after moving to New York over fifty years ago. He has acted as a band leader in a range of groups, alongside taking on the duties of sideman other groups, appearing on a seminal albums such as Eric Dolphy‘s ‘Out to Lunch’ and Jackie McLean‘s ‘One Step Beyond’. He first started experimenting with the resonant mix of Vibes and Hammond Organs in the mid 60’s, however he didn’t repeat this mix until he teamed up with DeFrancesco for his 2006 album ‘Organic Vibes’.

‘Somewhere In The Night’ is due for release September 25 on Kind of Blue Records.

Watch Bobby Hutcherson perform ‘Somewhere in the Night’ live in Germany below:

Somewhere In The Night Track Listing:

  1. Teddy (Bobby Hutcherson) – 9:05
  2. Little B’s Poem (Bobby Hutcherson) – 8:06
  3. Skj (Milt Jackson) – 8:25
  4. Take the Coltrane (Duke Ellington) – 9:05
  5. Wise One (John Coltrane) – 11:21
  6. Somewhere In The Night (Billy May) – 8:31
  7. My Foolish Heart (Victor Young) – 8:34
  8. S’Wonderful (George Gershwin) – 6:23

Album Personnel:
Bobby Hutcherson: Vibraphone
Joey DeFrancesco: Hammond B-3 Organ
Peter Bernstein: Guitar
Byron Landham: Drums