Kamasi Washington has announced the release date of his Brainfeeder label début album.

The 34-year-old is, perhaps, best known as the man behind the string arrangements on Kendrick Lamar’s latest album ‘To Pimp A Butterfly’ (aka Black Radio 3). However, he is also a critically acclaimed composer and tenor saxophonist in his own right; frequently collaborating with Brainfeeder label boss Flying Lotus.

Washington will release his new album, titled ‘The Epic,’ on May 5, 2015.

It’s safe to say this album will be big. Not only because everyone that has heard Washington before has been waiting for this day; but also because the album will be, literally, huge.

A 32-piece orchestra, 20-person choir, and Washington’s long-running 10-piece band will occupy 172-minutes (almost three hours!) in the album, which will be a three-volume suite.

Speaking about Washington, Flying Lotus said: “He just plays the craziest shit, man. I mean, everything – the past, present, the future.

“It’s hard to find unique voices in this music. Especially in jazz, more so lately, everybody is trying to do the same shit. I don’t want to hear ‘My Favorite Things’ anymore. What I am hearing is a leader among artists.”

Listen to the first single from the album, “Re Run Home,” below:


Kamasi Washington – Tenor Saxophone
Ryan Porter – Trombone
Igmar Thomas – Trumpet
Cameron Graves – Piano
Brandon Coleman – Keyboards
Miles Mosley – Acoustic Bass
Stephen “Thundercat” Bruner – Electric Bass
Tony Austin – Drums (Right Side)
Ronald Bruner Jr. – Drums (Left Side)
Leon Mobley – Percussion

The Epic Vol.1: The Plan:

  1. Change of the Guard
  2. Askim
  3. Isabelle
  4. Final Thought
  5. The Next Step
  6. The Rhythm Changes

The Epic Vol.2: The Glorious Tale:

  1. Miss Understanding
  2. Leroy and Lanisha
  3. Re Run
  4. Seven Prayers
  5. Henrietta Our Hero
  6. The Magnificent 7

The Epic Vol.3: The Historic Repetition:

  1. Re Run Home
  2. Cherokee
  3. Clair de Lune
  4. Malcolm’s Theme
  5. The Message