The SFJAZZ Collective carried the jazz mantle at this year’s NAACP Image Awards.

SFJAZZ Collective

The all-star ensemble beat fellow nominees Dave Koz & FriendsBoney JamesKevin Eubanks, and Najee to walk away with the only jazz-related award at this year’s ceremony – The ‘Outstanding Jazz Album’ award for their ‘Wonder: The Songs of Stevie Wonder’ album. A full list of NAACP Image Award winners is available below.

The winning album sees the entire collective, Miguel Zenón (alto sax), Mark Turner (tenor sax), Avishai Cohen (trumpet), Robin Eubanks (trombone), Stefon Harris (vibes), Edward Simon (piano), Matt Penman (bass), and Eric Harland (drums), re-imagine Stevie Wonder’s most popular works with fresh arrangements that emphasize the elements of jazz in the music and makes plenty of room for inspired improvisation.

Other music winners at the awards include Natalie Cole (Outstanding World Music Album), Janelle Monae (Outstanding Music Video) for ‘Q.U.E.E.N,’ John Legend (Outstanding Male Artist), and Beyoncé (Outstanding Female Artist).

Hosted by Anthony Anderson, the 45th annual NAACP Image Awards took place last night in Pasadena, CA as the organization continues its mission to celebrate the achievements of people of color in music, television, movies, literature, and directing.

The award ceremony also featured a warm tribute to late South African President Nelson Mandela led by Oprah Winfrey and a performance by Stevie Wonder.

12 Years a Slave was the big winner of the night. The film received the top theatrical award of the night, Outstanding Motion Picture, while director Steve McQueen and writer John Ridley won the Outstanding Directing and Outstanding Writing awards respectively. Actress Lupita Nyong’o also took home the ‘Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture’ award for her role in the film. This may be an indicator of things to come as 12 Years a Slave is expected to sweep the board next Sunday at the Academy Awards, having received nine nominations. If McQueen gets the Oscar for Best Picture, it will be the first time a black director has ever taken the flagship award.

Watch the SFJAZZ Collective perform ‘Superstition’ below:

Check out the full list of winners below:

Music Winners

Outstanding Jazz Album
“The Songs of Stevie Wonder” – SFJAZZ Collective – WINNER!
“Summer Horns” – Dave Koz, Gerald Albright, Mindi Abair, Richard Elliot (Concord Records)
“The Beat” – Boney James (Concord Records)
“The Messenger” – Kevin Eubanks (Mack Avenue Records)
“The Morning After: A Musical Love Journey” – Najee (Shanachie)

Outstanding New Artist
K. Michelle – WINNER!
Ariana Grande
Candice Glover
RaVaughn Brown

Outstanding Male Artist
John Legend – WINNER!
Bruno Mars
Charlie Wilson
Justin Timberlake
Robin Thicke

Outstanding Female Artist
Beyoncé – WINNER!
India Arie
Janelle Monáe
Mary J Blige

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration
“Blurred Lines” – Robin Thicke Ft. T.I. & Pharrell – WINNER!
“#Beautiful” – Mariah Carey Ft. Miguel
“Fire We Make” – Alicia Keys Ft. Maxwell
“Hurt You” – Toni Braxton Ft. Babyface
“Suit & Tie” – Justin Timberlake Ft. Jay-Z

Outstanding Gospel Album
“Best Days Deluxe Edition” – Tamela Mann – WINNER!
“20 Year Celebration Volume 1 – Best For Last” – Donald Lawrence
“Azusa: The Next Generation” – Hezekiah Walker
“Good God” – Shirley Caesar
“Music From the Motion Picture Black Nativity” – Various

Outstanding World Music Album
“Natalie Cole en Español” – Natalie Cole – WINNER!
“Coming from a Lady” – Lady Ele
“Live At The Royal Albert Hall” – Emeli Sande
“Sing To The Moon” – Laura Mvula
“The Standards” – Gloria Estefan

Outstanding Music Video
“Q.U.E.E.N.” – Janelle Monáe Ft. Erykah Badu – WINNER!
“Cocoa Butter” – India Arie
“Fire We Make” – Alicia Keys Ft. Maxwell
“Made To Love” – John Legend
“Treasure” – Bruno Mars

Outstanding Song
“All Of Me” – John Legend – WINNER!
“Blurred Lines ” – Robin Thicke Ft. T.I. & Pharrell
“Fire We Make” – Alicia Keys Ft. Maxwell
“Q.U.E.E.N.” – Janelle Monáe Ft. Erykah Badu
“Treasure” – Bruno Mars

Outstanding Album
“Love, Charlie” – Charlie Wilson – WINNER!
“20/20 Experience – The Complete Experience” – Justin Timberlake
“Blurred Lines” – Robin Thicke
“Love In The Future” – John Legend
“The Electric Lady” – Janelle Monáe