Jack DeJohnette is gearing up for the release of his next album.

The influential Jazz drummer is due to follow-up on his 2009 release, ‘Music We Are’, with the long-awaited ‘Sound Travels’ album, due for release January 17, 2012.

Speaking about the upcoming latin-influenced release, DeJohnette said: “I wanted to make something that would make people move, to make them relax and forget their troubles.”

The album will feature a long list of guest artists, including Bobby McFerrin and Bruce Honsby (Vocals), Ambrose Akinmusire (Trumpet), Lionel Loueke and Esperanza Spalding (Bass), Tim Ries (Sax), Luisito Quintero (Percussion), and Jason Moran (Piano).

Jazz Legend DeJohnette, a 69-year-old Chicago-native, has a long and distinguished history in Jazz. He is best known for his work with a long list of iconic musicians that includes Miles Davis, Sonny Rollins, Freddie Hubbard, and Joe Henderson.

The drummer went on to lead his own groups with great critical acclaim. Later this year he is due to receive a National Endowment for the Arts Jazz Master Fellowship for “significant lifetime contributions have helped to enrich jazz and further the growth of the art form” – One of the highest honors available to American Jazz musicians.

Watch Jack DeJohnette’s Gateway Trio perform ‘Homecoming’ below:

‘Sound Travels’ Track List:

  1. Enter Here
  2. Luisito Serena Salsa
  3. Dirty Ground (New Mix)
  4. New Muse
  5. Sonny Light
  6. Sound Travels
  7. Oneness
  8. Indigo Dreamscape
  9. Home