The winners of the 17th Jazz Journalists Association’s ‘Jazz Awards’ have been announced.

The winners were nominated by professional Jazz Journalists around the globe, with the aim of recognizing meaningful contributions to Jazz, as well as excellence in Jazz performance and composition over the past year.

Select nominees/winners this year include:

Lifetime Achievement In Jazz Award
Muhal Richard Abrams
McCoy Tyner
Randy Weston
Wayne Shorter – Winner!
(Note: This is one of three Jazz Awards Wayne Shorter won this year!)

Musician Of The Year
Anat Cohen
Chick Corea
Robert Glasper
Vijay Iyer
Wadada Leo Smith – Winner!

Composer Of The Year
Henry Threadgill
Maria Schneider – Winner!
Ryan Truesdell
Wadada Leo Smith

Up And Coming Artist Of The Year
Aaron Diehl – Winner!
Bria Skonberg
David Virelles
Ryan Truesdell

Record Of The Year
Vijay Iyer Trio – ‘Accelerando’
Ryan Truesdell – ‘Centennial: Newly Discovered Works of Gil Evans’ – Winner!
Robert Glasper – ‘Black Radio’
Sam Rivers/Dave Holland/Barry Altschul – ‘Reunion: Live in New York’
Wadada Leo Smith – ‘Ten Freedom Summers’

Record Label Of The Year
Clean Feed Records
Concord Jazz
ECM – Winner!
Pi Recordings
Sunnyside Records

>> Click Here To See The Full List Of JJA Music Award Winners

The winners will be presented with their awards at one of their upcoming public performances.

The Journalism & Media awards will be presented on June 19, 2013 at a special event at the Blue Note Jazz Club in  New York City.

Congratulations to all the winners.

(Disclosure: David La Rosa is a Professional Voting Member of the Jazz Journalists Association)