The winners of the 2013 Parliamentary Jazz Awards have been announced.

The awards are organized by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG), which is a group of over 100 Members of Parliament and Peers who combine forces to “promote the use and enjoyment of Jazz” in the U.K.

Following an online public vote to establish nominees, award winners are selected from the shortlist by a dedicated panel of expert voting members representing a broad range of musical backgrounds.

Now in its ninth year, the award ceremony was hosted by award-winning newsreader Moira Stuart at the House of Commons. The ceremony also featured performances by James Pearson and The Ronnie Scott’s All Stars.

Check out the full list of winners below:

Jazz Musician of the Year:
Christine Tobin
Winner! – Guy Barker
John Etheridge

Jazz Album of the Year
Christine Tobin – ‘Sailing to Byzantium’
Winner! – John Surman – ‘Saltash Bells’
Phronesis – ‘Walking Dark’

Jazz Ensemble of the Year
Beats & Pieces Big Band
Winner! – Impossible Gentlemen

Live Jazz Award of the Year
Café Oto, Dalston, London
Herts Jazz
Manchester Jazz Festival
Winner! – The Vortex Jazz Club, London

Jazz Journalist of the Year
John Fordham (The Guardian)
Mike Hobart (The Financial Times)
Winner! – Rob Adams (The Herald)

Jazz Broadcaster of the Year
Gilles Peterson (6Music)
Helen Mayhew (Jazz FM)
Winner! – Mike Chadwick (Jazz FM)

Jazz Publication of the Year
Winner! – Catherine Tackley – (Benny Goodman’s Famous 1938 Carnegie Hall Jazz Concert)

Jazz Education Award
Brian Moore
Jonathan Eno
Winner! – Nick Smart
Tommy Smith

Services to Jazz Award
Evan Parker
Keith Loxam
Norma Winstone
Winner! – Stan Tracey

Special Award Winner: Elaine Delmar

Congratulations to all of this year’s winners. The influence of ‘The Godfather of British Jazz‘ has always been underrated, so it’s great to see Stan Tracey receive more recognition for his work. Mike Chadwick has also been a been staple on the UK Jazz Scene for longer than I care to remember; and despite being nominated for the past nine consecutive years this is first APPJAG win. Long overdue and well-deserved.

There is one category, however that leaves me perplexed – Jazz Publication of the Year. Catherine Tackley‘s 248 page book “Benny Goodman’s Famous 1938 Carnegie Hall Jazz Concert” is an outstanding piece of work that offers an incredibly thorough analysis of this milestone in the history of Jazz. The book is worthy of its own accolades, and her socio-historical analysis deserves particular praise. However the comparison of this book with a periodical and a blog can never be called apt. Sebastian Scotney‘s ‘LondonJazzNews’ provides what must be the most in-depth local Jazz coverage on the planet, and after being nominated for the past four years it is once again eschewed, and by a book of all things. Despite the outstanding nature of Tackley’s work, my view of the spirit of this category leaves me thinking a regular publication should have walked away with this one. Perhaps it’s time for a new category?